Ayurveda is the traditional Indian science of integrated health and the world’s oldest known medical science. It originated in India over 5,000 years ago. The main source of this ancient knowledge is the Vedas or the divine books of knowledge propounded by spiritual rishis (sages) in India.

Ayurveda is not simply a healthcare system, but a form of lifestyle adopted to maintain perfect balance and harmony within the human existence.  It examines the complete person. According to Ayurveda, life represents a combination of the Atma (soul), Mana (mind), Indriya (senses) and Sharira (body). It revolves around the five elements (Panchamahabhutas) that constitute an individual’s nature or Prakriti. This nature is determined by the vital balance of the three physical energies – Vata, Pitta and Kapha – and the three mental energies – Sattva, Rajas and Tamas.

According to Ayurveda, living in harmony with nature and according to natural principles ensures complete physical health and peace of mind. However, modern life often violates the principles of natural living. We rush from one mundane task to the next while being bombarded with advertising and constant noise, and absorbing pollution through the air and water. No wonder we are inviting disease rather than confronting it.

Living naturally according to some simple principles can prevent the need for expensive medical treatment or needless suffering from debilitating conditions. Learn to listen to your body and read the signals of distress to maintain health, and lead a more productive life. Ayurveda offers a unique blend of science and philosophy that balances the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual components necessary for holistic health.

Dr. Satyanarayana Das Babaji teaching

In the seminar on Ayurveda and Spirituality, students will learn the definition of health, the three doshas (physical constitutions), how the doshas are related to various diseases, daily routines to maintain health, the three types of treatment, the three pillars of health, the three types of diseases, and the five types of karmas.

The course on Yoga and Ayurveda provides an authentic overview of Yoga, Ayurveda, and their common philosophical system – Sankhya. The eight limbs of Yoga, kriyayoga, and the three doshas (physical constitutions) are specifically discussed.

You can read more about topics related to Ayurveda here on this website:

Basic Principles of Ayurveda

Fire – the Transformational Energy of Life

Seminar on Ayurveda and Spirituality

  • Satyanarayana Dasa

    Satyanarayana Dasa
  • Daily Bhakti Byte

    A Bhakta is naturally very inspired to do service and is not stressed while engaging in it. Therefore, a Bhakta can work long hours with little rest. If you have to do a job that you don’t like, you get stressed and then you need to rest longer. Bhakti is rejuvenating to you. You don’t need a free weekend, or to go on a vacation.

    — Babaji Satyanarayana Dasa
  • Videos with Bababji

  • Payment

    If you want to donate to Jiva Institute, please contact info@jiva.org.
  • Subscribe

  • Article Archive

  • Chronological Archive

© 2017 JIVA.ORG. All rights reserved.